Flirtations with the wide leg trouser

Being a lover of vintage styles, and given that my body shape naturally suits the styles of the 40’s and 50’s, a natural starting place was to make something vintage inspired. I requested the book ‘Gertie sews vintage casuals’ for Christmas last year as it was jam packed with cute vintage inspired makes, and above all things I am a sucker for a book which comes with free patterns (hello ‘Love at first stitch’ for xmas this year).

My first make from this book was more of a pattern hack. I liked the look of the wide leg, wrap front jumpsuit, picturing a summer of lounging about in it looking like a cross between a 70s boho chick and Rosie the Riveter. However I decided that first I should familiarise myself with the process of trouser making.

Soon, I had drafted the wide leg trouser pattern (more of a hack really, based upon the gorgeous cigarette pants which I have yet to try, but Gertie talks you through each step). A word to the novice sewer however, pay close attention to the measurements she gives, and do not foolishly think that you know best when it comes to the width of a trouser leg. But more of that later.

After finding what I think is some kind of rayon for £3 a metre in a beautiful turquoise paisley pattern, I decided my test run should be some summer palazzo pants; wide and floaty with a narrow elasticated waist, again conjuring images of a bohemian summer outfit.

I cut them out in my living room. I remembered how to construct trousers (I’m of the school of four piece trousers, where you make up two legs then place one inside the other and sew the crotch). First win. The completed trousers fit beautifully. Second win. They looked good on. Third win.

Next came the real challenge.

TLSO

x

Leave a Reply

