Ghosts of garments yet to come… and a tin of soup

Today I’m veering from my pattern slightly (sewing pun very much intended). I’m taking a quick break from blogging about my past makes to blog about some future ones.

Last week (on New years day) I made some resolutions, the first of which was to do with the creation of my hand made wardrobe. From this came glorious evening of planning makes for the year ahead. That’s right folks, the whole year. I’m aiming for 2 makes a month minimum, and wrote me a little list of what to make each month as a guide. This month its going to be knickers using the Sew Over It kit I got for Christmas and Tilly and the Buttons’ Coco funnel neck top. Anyway, because of the high number of patterns I have which are overlapped on sheets (like the free magazine ones) I decided to be a grown up about this. Today I traced them.

Well not all of them. I traced the Coco top and dress (for later in the year), the Margot PJs from ‘Love at First Stitch’, and the Mathilde blouse pattern (which I had been planning on buying but then came free with this month’s ‘Love Sewing’ magazine – too exciting). To counter all this grown up-ness I have decided to make the PJs in a dinosaur print cotton. This feels much better already.

I still have the Megan and Lilou dresses  and Mimi blouse to trace along with the Bowling shirt, coat and man’s shirt from the GBSB book, but I’m happy with three for today.

Tomorrow my best friend from way back is coming over for a crafting day. She makes and sells gorgeous jewellery which I can only marvel at. You can find her blog at beckyjojewellery.wordpress.com, which I totally encourage you to do. We have some exciting plans which I’ll reveal in due course.

Finally, at the weekend I went to Leon’s, my favourite fabric shop to purchase specific things. Be prepared to be proud of me.

I left the shop with only what I went in for! I know, take a moment to take that information in. The result was some lovely black cotton velvet and purple lining for a short Arielle skirt and a gorgeously soft fleur de lis print chambray for a summer Bettine. Soon, dear readers, soon.

TLSO

x

Leave a Reply

